G’Mornin’ Muesli

Recently, muesli has become my obsession! I am addicted – and it’s fun to see what else I can add to this delicious Swiss breakfast dish. I had originally heard about muesli from a Parenting magazine article discussing how we get our kids to eat healthy snacks but never tried it until I began reading KERF.

For those of you who don’t know, muesli (pronounced m -letter u – slee) is a mix of whole grains, nuts, and seeds. Sort of like a fancy oatmeal. You can make this yourself by mixing rolled oats, and whatever nuts, seeds, dried fruits etc. While I have made it with my own pantry ingredients, I now prefer Bob’s Red Mill old country style muesli – it’s just pre-mixed rolled oats, rye, triticale (which is a hybrid of wheat and rye and contains more protein but less gluten than either of it’s parents), barley, almonds, dates, raisins, sunflower seeds, flax seeds and walnuts. Clearly much easier to buy this mix than all of those ingredients individually. Once you mix all of your dry ingredients, add an equal portion of milk (I use almond milk for extra flavor) and yogurt. I usually do 1/3 cup of each for a single serving. Cover and then let it soak in the goodness over night. The best part is, when you wake up breakfast is already made and waiting for you! Sometimes if I’m extra hungry, I’ll add some fruit to top it off but really this is an incredibly high fiber, high protein breakfast that keeps your belly full for a while! I usually eat this the morning after I take a long run because I’m always starved when I wake up.

Theo gobbles this stuff up – no questions asked. But Parker on the other hand, of course has to question it. “Buuuuut I don’t like raisins…Buuuuuut I don’t like sunflower seeds….Buuuuuut I don’t like triticale.”

Well, okay. I made the last one up. But seriously could this kid not like anything else?!  To test if it was really the ingredients that he didn’t like or just the look of the stuff, I developed a recipe!

Muesli cookies!

Now, these are NOT breakfast cookies! That whole concept of Quaker breakfast cookies cracks me up. I thought that no cookies for breakfast was a general, human kind, rule of thumb that has been passed down over the ages but I guess I was mistaken.

Anyway, I used the outline of an oatmeal cookie recipe that I got from TheDailyGreen.com but I made it my own by changing most of the ingredients. The recipe is as follows.

1 stick of organic butter – 800 calories

1/2 cup of organic brown sugar – 360 calories

1 organic egg – 70 calories

1 cup of whole wheat flour – 440 calories

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. sea salt (sea salt is stronger than other types of salt so use less than normal!)

cinnamon ( is your friend! Use liberally!)

1/4 cup of almond milk – 20 calories

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Muesli mix – 440 calories

Preheat oven to 350. With a mixer, cream butter and brown sugar and then the egg. In a separate bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients (not including the muesli mix) together. Next add half of the dry mixture to the butter mixture and then half of the milk with a wooden spoon. Repeat with the rest of the dry mixture and then milk. Once all is incorporated, fold in the muesli mix.  Drop the cookies – about a well rounded tsp. size – on a lightly oiled cookie sheet, and bake for about 8 minutes. Or whenever you think they’re done!

This measurement made me 33 small cookies which were approximately 65 calories each! What a nice little treat!

And to top it off, my hypothesis was right! Parker lurved the cookies (he helped make them!)! They even turned him on to a new food! He now eats raisins! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

