Ch Ch Ch Chia!

Chia seeds that is.

I’ve mentioned these little buggers before but recently (finally) bought some and love them! I don’t love them because they taste good or add extra oomph to my food – they really don’t taste like anything and the most they do is add a teeny tiny bit of crunch to whatever I decide they go with. I love them because of the punch that they pack as far as nutrition goes. And I just keep hearing more and more about them!

I was reading Born To Run this morning and came across another rather interesting tid bit of information regarding chia seeds that I want to share.

“Home brewed Red Bull! Now this I had to try…Months later, I’d learn that iskiate is otherwise known as chia fresca – chilly chia. It’s brewed up by dissolving chia seeds in water with a little sugar and a quirt of lime. In terms of nutritional content, a tablespoon of chia is like a smoothie made from salmon, spinach, and human growth hormone. As tiny as those seeds are, they’re superpacked with omega-3s, omega-6s, protein, calcium, iron, zinc, fiber, and antioxidants. If you had to pick one desert-island food, you couldn’t do much better than chia, at least if you were interested in building muscle, lowering cholesterol, and reducing your risk of heart disease; after a few months on the chia diet, you could probably swim home. Chia was once so treasured, the Aztecs used to deliver it to their king in homage. Aztec runners used to chomp chia seeds as they went into battle, and the Hopis fueled themselves on chia during their epic runs from Arizona to the Pacific Ocean. The Mexican state of Chiapas is actually named after the seed; it used to rank right up there with corn and beans as a cash crop. Despite it’s liquid-gold status, chia is ridiculously easy to grow; if you own a Chia Pet, in fact, you’re only a few steps away from your own batch of devil drink.”

I can’t believe that something that has been regarded so valuable to the human body for such a long time, is now mainly used to grow the hair on a ceramic Shrek head. I’m really going to try and find a recipe for this “iskiate”. I’ll let you know how it goes.

This morning for breakfast, I tried something new. It’s Bob’s Red Mill 100% whole grain 10 grain hot cereal. A mouth full. It’s ground wheat, rye, triticale, oats and oat bran, corn, barley, soybeans, brown rice, millet, and flaxseed. You mix 1/4 cup (140 cal) into 1 cup of boiling water and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. It turns into a malt- o-meal type of texture. I added some blueberries and raspberries along with a 1/4 cup of plain yogurt (get some probiotics into it!), a little agave for some sweetness (maybe next time I’ll leave this out because with the berries it was too sweet), and of course my chia seeds! Perfect! Seriously, I really enjoyed this and I didn’t get hungry for hours!

I also tried something new for lunch too! I’m kind of bored with my usual salad so I’ve been trying to spice up my daily spinach intake. You’re all going to think I’m crazy but I have been piling spinach onto a peanut butter and plum butter sandwich. It sounds nasty but it’s not! I promise you. It’s actually so good that I get cravings for these sandwiches. I think spinach goes well with sweet things (think raspberry vinaigrette) and peanut butter goes well with anything (my grandpa used to eat peanut butter and onions on his hamburgers!), so this sandwich works! Anyway, my lunch today consisted of a whole wheat english muffin with one triangle of laughing cow spread all over it and then piled with spinach and tomatoes to make a kind of sandwich. On the side, I had a gala apple (the best!) with some PB to dip it in. This was a perfect lunch! At about 300 calories (with the PB being the most!), I got in 3 servings of fruits and veggies! and an additional serving of whole grains.

With such a healthy start to my day, I feel awesome! I rode 3 miles on my bike pulling Parker to school and I definitely see a run in my future! It’s amazing how completely my body responds to the sun. I’m like a freaking plant absorbing my nutrients directly from the sun! But enough talking about the sun – I need to get out and enjoy it! 🙂

One thought on “Ch Ch Ch Chia!

  1. I keep reading about chia seeds, and have only tried them in a food bar I recently reviewed. They have a good crunch that would be good in oatmeal, I imagine; I may have to buy some to keep on hand.

Leave a Reply

