I can sleep when I’m dead…

There is no snooze button on a cat who wants breakfast.

Author Unknown

My Theo won’t sleep. He’s just not a sleeper. Since he was born we knew that he was different from his older brother who slept 6 hours the first night he was home from the hospital. Theo didn’t sleep through the night until he was 15 months old. And now at 26 months, he’s done taking naps too.

Aside from being awoken throughout the night (which is no fun for anyone), I don’t mind that he’s not a sleeper (too much).  I actually love early mornings. Especially on the weekends when there’s nothing to be done and we can sit quietly and enjoy the peacefulness of the lazy time of day.

On mornings when I’m particularly tired, I just look at his cute little baby face and know that I only have a few more years of him crawling into my bed in the morning. Eventually, he’ll be a teenager who no longer wants to nuggle his mommy, let alone get out of bed at 5:30 to have breakfast with her. Plus I know that crawling out of bed means that I get to see things like this.

Leave a Reply

