Iskiate and Celery and BBQ and Brownies (Oh my?)

Iskiate:

8 oz of water

1 tbs Chia seeds

a few tsp of lemon or lime juice

sugar or sweetener to taste

I made my own version of Iskiate this afternoon when I mixed some Chia seeds into my iced green tea. All I have to say is by the end of the glass I was shooting it down my throat. The Chia seeds gel up and begin to look like frog eggs. I couldn’t get it out of my head… “Morgan, you are drinking frog eggs. Slimy frog eggs are running down your throat.” So hopefully I get a massive energy boost from taking it like a champ. Hell, I’ll even take the placebo effect! Actually, I think I already experienced it the other day when, after eating a big bowl of muesli filled with Chia, I ran 8.4 miles – my furthest distance ever.

67 pesticides on celery?! No thanks, I’ll pay the extra 25 cents for organic and have none!

I am super excited for dinner tonight! We are having slow cooker BBQ ribs (my mouth is watering!), homemade whole wheat mac n cheese, green beans and home made corn bread! All organic except for the BBQ sauce. For 66 cents, I bought Bull’s Eye Kansas City Style, which has a fantastic ingredients list:

Water, Tomato paste, sugar, vinegar, molasses, salt, corn starch, natural flavor, mustard flour, dried onions, spice, dried garlic

Minus the “natural flavor” it’s not too bad. We can all pronounce and identify each of the ingredients.

We’re also having dessert tonight! The boys and I were bored this morning so we made homemade Brownies, a recipe courtesy of my friend Becky’s delicious blog. We also made some chocolate frosting to top them off!

It’s going to be a gooooood night!

One thought on “Iskiate and Celery and BBQ and Brownies (Oh my?)

Leave a Reply

