An Ode To Stir Fry…

Seriously, there is no other meal that contains more of a perfect combination of versatility, ease, health, and tastiness than stir fry. It is one of my most favorite things to cook and eat!

Normally I make teriyaki chicken, but we have decided to start doing a few meatless nights every week, in order to cut down on our meat consumption so tonight we’ll be having teriyaki tofu. I have also used thinly sliced flank steak before. The sauce is a simple mixture of low sodium soy sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, ginger, garlic, and sesame seeds. I could make it in my sleep. Marinate the meat (or tofu) in the sauce for a while and then separate before cooking – but save the marinade. While the meat (or meatless) is cooking – I normally bake it – get your wok nice and hot  and then add a little sesame oil. Next comes the fun part. Throw in as many vegetables as you can think of. Some examples of what I have used:

Bok Choy (favorite!)

Mushrooms

Onions (another fav!)

Spinach (my lifeline which is usually in everything that I make)

Green Beans

Peas

Broccoli

Carrots

Zucchini

Cabbage

Brussels’ Sprouts

Edamame

And while you’re at it, you can go ahead and throw in the kitchen sink! Although I’m not a fan of peppers, obviously they’d go nicely as well. Basically, just anything that you have lying around your kitchen. While all of the yumminess is cooking up, throw some brown rice or whole wheat lo mein on to boil. Once, the meat is done, and the veggies are softened, and the grain is boiled, put them all together in the wok and pour the original marinade all over it. I usually let it cook for another 5 minutes and then voila! Dinner is served!

To sum up this recipe – take any meat or meat substitute and mix it with whatever veggies and whatever grain and serve hot with homemade teriyaki sauce poured all over it. Easy Peasy but delicious!

Now I need to go start the chopping!

UPDATE!

Dinner was delicious! I used broccoli, peas, onions, carrots, spinach, red cabbage and green cabbage. I’d say we got our veggie servings for the day!

One thought on “An Ode To Stir Fry…

  1. I used to make stir fry all the time when I was in college, but since I graduated, I seem to forget about making this easy and versatile dinner. I love bok choy too – so good!

Leave a Reply

