Eh…

I am both happy and sad to say that I have finally finished Born To Run. Happy because it was an amazing adventure that was building up to the final race (for which I couldn’t wait!), but sad because I feel like I no longer have my daily connection with the characters (who are actually all real people). I normally feel this way anytime that I finish a book though. I am just weird.

Seriously though, this book is one of the best books that I have ever read. Aside from being completely interesting (just ask my husband – I practically read it to him, I was so excited), it was more inspiring than anything I have ever experienced. I was thrilled to read that other people have had the same experiences that I have had with running. It’s not something that you have to be good at to do and it’s not something that you have to have started early in life. Anyway, if you have any interest in running, self improvement, unique cultures, history, or health, I highly recommend this read.

Tonight was a left over night. Josh went out to dinner with some friends and we have had tons of leftovers for the past few days (I love it!)! I have really been craving some type of bbq chicken on the bone so yesterday I bought an organic griller pack which included breasts and legs. It was only $8.50 and made two nights worth of food! Last night we all enjoyed bbq’d chicken legs with fresh green beans (which was a light enough dinner for me to run a quick 2 miles  just an hour after eating!) and tonight the boys and I ate the leftover chicken with some black beans and cabbage. I’ve really been in the mood for lots of veggies lately so I chopped up a tomato and both green and purple cabbage and threw it all in a skillet for about 4 minutes along with some garlic, onion powder and a leeeetle Italian dressing (Newman’s Own – one of my fav brands!). It was delish!

My brother in law sent me a link to this really great article about “fake food”. From this article I found another on the worst drinks in America. Both very interesting and enlightening. He found the part about Taco Bell adding sand to their meat to be one of the bigger attention getting facts. Okay, so it’s not sand straight from the Cape May beaches, but it is silicon dioxide which is an additive found in tons of foods, used to prevent caking. In TB’s case, they probably put it in the taco seasoning powder. None the less, it’s not the healthiest thing you can eat (and certainly, not real food) and has been linked to Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and symptoms similar to those of Fibromyalgia. Just one more example of how the things that  you put in your body don’t always shows it’s ugly side in the form of fat. An unhealthy diet may not effect your waist line, but can still be effecting your life in ways that you would never imagine. WebMd uses the term LIKELY SAFE in food amounts, which just sounds to me like euphemism for “we have no idea what the hell eating this will cause”. A staple phrase in food regulations. Oh yeah, here’s the article.

Okay, enough yapping. Good Night All!

Leave a Reply

