Damage Control.

Well it’s been a while since I’ve had anything worth saying to the blog world and it’s quite possible that I still don’t have much to say, but I figured I’d get on and let everyone know that I’m still alive. The pesticides haven’t killed me yet! 😉

For the past month, I have to admit, my family and I haven’t eaten foods that I consider to be ideal. We’ve had little time to make the trips to Philly for food options and one activity after the next in which we have eaten at restaurants.

It’s killing me.

The stress/guilt that I’ve experienced from my boys eating pure junk (Parker officially knows what a cheese ball is) and drinking Gatorade is ridiculous, to say the least. I’ve recently started to wonder if the stress that I put upon myself pertaining to food is actually retroactively effecting the good health that I earn from making healthy choices.  So I’ve decided that I am going to try and be a little more laid back.

Understand that just saying this out loud makes me cringe. I feel that by admitting that I sometimes go a little overboard with my whole food obsession is perhaps, admitting that I’m wrong in some small way. And anyone who knows me also knows that I truly do not like to be wrong/am rarely ever wrong 🙂 So along with my confession that my constant worry about the food (or non food) that we put into our bodies is possibly becoming unhealthy in and of itself, I want to add a disclaimer –

I still love real food. I still truly believe in organic food. I still refuse to buy cheese balls and Gatorade. But I will make an effort to remember that it will be okay if my boys eat a marshmallow. They (probably) won’t grow up to resent me because I allowed them to indulge in the occasional fruit snack (? gulp). And they won’t think that I gave up on them when I sometimes buy white flour tortillas instead of whole wheat (only because Whole Foods is 90 miles way).

It will be rough, but ultimately less stress is best for everyone. Sometimes, we control freaks have to give up some of the control  for some of the time. Just wish me luck!

One thought on “Damage Control.

  1. I think that’s the healthiest way to be, for yourself and your family. It’s important to have standards, but to also be realistic since so many people don’t think about healthy eating and processed foods.

Leave a Reply

