Almost Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

With Fall in the air I have wanted to do nothing but cook! Usually, my cooking does not include baking – I believe you are either born a cook or a baker, and I am most definitely not a baker. But twice in the past week I have found myself looking for cookie recipes.

Todays is a take on vegan oatmeal raisin cookies. I’m all about cutting out as much animal product as possible (not much in our cheese loving house) but did not have the vegan butter that the recipe called for, so my version is a vegan plus butter recipe 🙂

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1 teaspoon baking soda (which I strangely love the hint of, in these cookies)

a dash of salt, lots of cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg

1/2 cup of organic butter (or Earth Balance for true vegan cookies)

1/3 cup brown sugar (although I think these cookies were a bit sweet)

1/2 cup applesauce

1 teaspoon of vanilla

2 tablespoons of soy milk ( or any kind of dairy free milk)

1/2 cup of raisins

1/3 cup of butterscotch chips (once again, vegan if you prefer)

Mix dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar until creamy and then add applesauce, vanilla and milk. Combine dry and wet ingredients and fold in raisins and butterscotch chips. Proceed to eat batter.

It’s amazing.

Busted! Batter on the bump.

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes per batch. I’ve also read to substitute the applesauce for pumpkin which I totally would have done, had I not already eaten all of the pumpkin 🙂 Enjoy!

One thought on “Almost Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies

Leave a Reply

