The halfway mark!

20 weeks (and 1 day) and half way there! I know I’m supposed to be enjoying this pregnancy – especially because it’s probably my last, but I’m feeling awfully impatient. I just want a baby now! Besides, it’s not that I’m not enjoying being pregnant. Honestly, I still forget that I am for the most part. But it took us two months of trying before I became pregnant which means that we won’t have a baby in our hands for a full year from the time that we decided that we wanted another baby. In no way do I mean to complain or whine. I know that I am lucky beyond words and I am so thankful that I get the chance to be a mom to another little bebe, but like I said, I’m just feeling a little impatient.

As far as health goes, I’m feeling fantastic! My only complaint is a small case of heartburn which normally only occurs at night and only when I have eaten something spicy or tomato based, or when I haven’t eaten enough.  Otherwise I still feel like my pre pregnancy self. I am extremely happy with my fitness level and constantly wonder when my workouts will get harder. Besides not running, I’m definitely still performing at the levels I was capable of pre pregnancy. I’m also happy with my weight gain. So far I’ve gained 8 pounds which is right within reach of the recommended 10 pounds by 20 weeks. Aside from consistently strange dreams, my sleep has also been unaffected. Emotionally I’m doing better! haha I feel like I’ve been a wreck this pregnancy but Josh claims that I’ve been like this with each one 🙂 Personally, I kind of like the pregnancy excuse. Now I have a “reason” for crying over commercials or Casper or seeing Parker run to me at the end of the school day.

Of course at 20 weeks, the biggest question is “when do you find out what you’re having”, but we’re not! At first I really thought that I couldn’t do it but now I don’t even think about it. I actually can’t believe that we found out with our first two. I’m a total pleasure delayer so one final surprise is right up my alley! As far as maternal instinct goes, I don’t feel a strong pull one way or the other but we do refer to the baby as “him”. haha Josh is disturbed by this, but it’s natural for a family of all boys to expect another boy and seriously, it’s better than calling the baby IT!  I think that most people are like this, as my friend with all girls has referred to the baby as “she”, a few times by accident.

Names are definitely a weekly discussion although no real progress has been made and middle names are not even on our radar. Originally we were going to keep the names a secret but since we’re not finding out the gender I thought we should probably share names to make it a little more “real” to our out of state family who are already missing out on all of the baby experience. The only definite that we have is our boy’s name, which we had picked out before I even got pregnant. If the baby ends up a boy, he will be named Griffin. And if it’s a girl, the name that I like is Reese while Josh prefers Dempsey. I think we should wait until the babe is born and if it’s a girl decide when we see her. Middle names are even more difficult. We’ve given both of our boys middle names with a purpose but we can’t come up with a third purposeful name. My idea was to let the boys choose, be it silly or not, but Josh wasn’t so keen on that idea.

Although we’re only half way there, I’ve just recently started to feel a little unprepared! We’ve already bought a bassinet, car seat, play mat, and a bumbo seat but still have so much to get! We’re cloth diapering so we have to finish our research on which brand to go with and how many we’ll need, not to mention make the purchase.  Since we’ll be moving 3 months after the baby is born, we’re not going to do a nursery until we’re in our new house so furniture is not a concern right now but I feel like there are so many little things that babies need! We don’t have a single piece of clothing, blanket, baby accessory etc.While four and a half months seems like a long time to wait for a baby, it doesn’t quite feel like enough time to get ready for a baby.

I’m sure March will be here before we know it!

Leave a Reply

