The easiest dinner you will ever make in your life!

I’ve just been cooking up a storm lately! It seems like all I want to do. Cooking and baking. Better cooking than baking, as usual. 🙂 I have to share this easy, light dinner that I whipped up in about 10 minutes last night because I just had leftovers for lunch and can’t get enough! It’s delish!! Unfortunately I don’t have a picture because I wasn’t planning on sharing this recipe but it’s too good to pass up!

I would call this a Mexican casserole.

First cook about 1 cup (dry) polenta. I’m actually not sure how much I used because I had a big bowl frozen from a meal that I made weeks ago. If you’ve never cooked polenta before, I promise, you will have no problem! Follow the instructions on the package (I use Bob’s Red Mill) and you will have yourself a yummy casserole base within minutes! The only thing I do differently from the package is substitute vegetable broth for water.

While that’s cooking, drain and rinse a can of pinto beans. Throw the beans into a pan with a can of organic crushed tomatoes (don’t drain the juice) as well as some frozen corn, cumin, chili powder, lime juice and cilantro. I really can’t give specific measurements because this was just a throw together meal. Let it all simmer until most of the juice has evaporated.

Next, layer a casserole dish with first, the polenta and then with the bean/veggie mix. Cover it with a layer of organic mexican cheese and bake until the cheese is nice and melty and slightly brown. Add chopped scallions to the top and serve! I served this alongside some sautéed kale and garlic and it was a hit! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

