Winter Harvest Salad

After reading a few different recipes for cole slaw types of salads I decided that making a huge beast of a salad to last me all week would provide a great break from my daily soup lunch. Of course, cole slaw and perhaps most salads in general, make you think of summertime and that’s just not what I’m looking to do during the holidays, so I thought I’d try my hand at a winter type of salad using ingredients that are in season right now.

Based off of Oh She Glows take on Whole Foods’ Detox Salad, I created a super light and delicious winter harvest salad that is not only vegan, but totally raw as well.

I began by chopping up one big head of organic broccoli (Am I the only one who thought broccoli was a summer veggie? Apparently it’s peak season right now!), a head of cauliflower, about 10 organic bunny carrots, and half of a red onion. I threw each veggie into my food processor and chopped it just until they were each in small, similar sized pieces.  I mixed the veggies together and started thinking about my dressing.

Originally, I was going to make a classic cole slaw dressing – only vegan, consisting of Veganaise and red wine vinegar. But then, I remembered that I had bought an entire bag of cranberries (with the intention of eating them until Josh explained to me just how sour they are) and that I had recently seen a cranberry dressing recipe. The dressing was suggested to be used on a spinach salad but I thought it would work with this salad too. I was right.

I began by cooking a cup of cranberries over medium heat along with 1/4 of a cup of pomegranate red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup of maple syrup. The cranberries only need to be heated for a few minutes. I then realized (and proceeded to get very excited) that this recipe called for freshly squeezed orange or clementine juice. It just so happened that an hour earlier I had ran to the exchange with Josh and randomly picked up a citrus juicer. For $4.95! Yes, if you are a Cape May Coastie reading this, RUN to the exchange and get your $5 citrus juicer because it is amazing. Many know that right now I am drooling over a very expensive juicer and now this baby, in all its’ glory, has made me want it even more! I decided to go with clementines because we have 5 pounds of them (Parker is clementine crazed) and they are most definitely in season. My sweet little juicer only used 3 teeny clementines to get me the 1/2 cup that I needed. Awesome.

So once you have your cooked cranberries and squeezed clementines, throw the berries, juice, 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard, and 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil into a blender and mix it all up nice and good. I added about half of this to the veggies waiting in the bowl, along with 1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds and 1 and 1/2 cups of currants. Mix it well so that the whole salad is covered in dressing and serve!

I was very pleased with how this mixture turned out but I think next time, I would substitute walnuts for the pumpkin seeds. Delish either way!

Leave a Reply

