The end of the second trimester.

I was going to save this post for the beginning of the third trimester (next Friday) but I’m just so excited about EVERYTHING baby that I can’t contain myself! I don’t have much info written down from either of my other pregnancies and so I want to document as much as possible with this one! Especially since we’ve officially decided it’s our last. Josh has a certain appointment coming up soon which means we’re set on this decision. We’ve both had second thoughts but agree that 3 is the perfect number for our family. I asked Josh if he’d consider having the procedure reversed if we changed our minds with in the next two years but he said no. Actually, I think his exact words were “When it’s cut, it’s cut. We can always adopt!” Haha poor guy.

Anyway, today I am 26 weeks along, which makes this my last week of the second trimester. The past 13 weeks have flown by and I can only imagine the next 13 will go even faster! ย We had the first ultrasound since week 9, yesterday and everything looked great! The baby was measuring correctly in every way and was even about 1/3 of a pound bigger than what’s typical of a 26 week old fetus. But, that’s typical of our babies! We like ’em big! We stuck to our guns with not finding out the gender even though when we left the ultrasound we had two major meltdowns by two of my boys. Parker and Josh, that is. Parker cried because he just can’t handle the suspense. He also said that we took a family vote and I was the only one who voted no, even though Josh said he wanted to ultimately leave it up to me. Clearly I acted as a dictator by over ruling the 3 -1 vote. As for Josh, he walked into the appointment with a huge smile on his face and told the boys “This is one of my favorite parts of having a baby” but walked out grumpy and disappointed. During the ultrasound, the tech said “You’re not interested in finding out the gender, correct?” to which I looked at Josh and said, “It’s your call.” Of course he backed out of that one! He didn’t want the pressure put on him so I spoke up and reassured the tech that we did not want to find out. ย When we left, Josh said that it felt so strange to leave without any additional information which is what caused him to pout. I reminded him that we did leave with new info. The baby is big, healthy, and has a healthy heart and two kidneys and two arms and two legs. Plus we think that it looks like Theo. haha I know this sounds ridiculous but over dinner we both divulged that when we got to see a pretty clear picture of the little bebe, it reminded us of what Theo’s ultrasound picture looked like. To top it off, it was laying (sitting, swimming?) with it’s one arm above it’s head which is exactly how Theo sleeps. Adorable. The extra fun thing about yesterday’s ultrasound is that the tech did not see anything while he was doing the scan, which means that there is still not a single person in the world who knows what the baby in my belly is, besides being a healthy baby.

The proud big brothers!

As for me, I’m still feeling great! I’ve not had heart burn in weeks. I’ve had no swelling (besides on Black Friday, but hey, I think everyone swells a little on that day) and I’m still feeling excellent during my workouts. I’m definitely starting to feel differently while running but nothing that’s making it intolerable yet. Actually, yesterday I only had about 30 minutes to workout and wanted to get in a quick 3 miles. I ended up running about 9 min 40 sec miles, which is the fastest I’ve run since becoming pregnant. I can’t even stress how strong my legs are getting from carrying around this extra weight. I keep thinking that my post pregnancy runs are going to be so easy but the truth is, I’ll probably have to take a good 12+ weeks off from running which will even out everything I’ve gained from running heavier.

26 Weeks!

As for weight gain, I’m up 11-12 pounds. This week I came down with a respiratory infection which led to antibiotics that need to be taken on an empty stomach 3 times a day. This means that I have to time my meals perfectly which has led to almost zero snacking. This, and the fact that I’ve probably burned around 2,000 calories just from coughing alone, has led to about a 1 pound weight loss. I’m sure that pound will reappear just as soon as I’m healthy again. Speaking of eating, I have to say, I’ve always been a skeptic when it comes to pregnancy cravings but they seem to be hitting me this time around. All I can think about want are carbs and nut butters. Oatmeal and almond butter to be exact, but I won’t discriminate against my husband’s homemade breads, pumpkin pancakes, cinnamon raisin toast, or peanut butter. Eggs are another thing. I’m normally not a big egg eater at all, but I’ve found myself making hard boiled eggs more times in the past two weeks than I have in the past 5 years. I have my glucose test coming up in about 2 weeks but I’m not worried about it at all. Aside from being at a healthy weight, I’ve actually been eating less sugary treats than I do when I’m not pregnant. I normally identify with having a massive sweet tooth but there is no doubt that I’ve lost some of it during this pregnancy (now if only it will stay gone!). I know that carbs do effect your blood sugar but I really feel like I have nothing to worry about.

My comfortability levels are still the same, for the most part, as they were pre pregnancy. I’m sleeping fine (minus this week’s cold), and I’m still capable of doing everything on my own, although I do seem to require far more back rubs from Josh – a pregnancy side effect I suppose ๐Ÿ™‚ . With that said though, I’m not exactly thrilled to drive 8 hours to and from Ohio for the holidays, nor am I excited about sleeping on an air mattress for what could possibly end up being an entire week. But I’m keeping a positive attitude and focusing on the good parts of our trip.

When it comes to preparing for the baby, I’ve definitely started to enter the “nesting” phase, which I feel like has come too early. Last weekend I had a major, perhaps, panic attack and felt the need to go baby shopping. While we’re waiting to make most of our large purchases (basically the entire nursery) until we move in July, there are still A TON of things that a newborn/nursing mom needs. So far we’ve gotten a gorgeous pack and play bassinet, car seat, play mat, and bumbo seat, as well as started our cloth diaper and wipe stash. We’ve also picked up a lot of little essentials like bottle carriers and travel wet bags, sheets and blankets, a few outfits and nursing tanks and bras. Although I’m not planning on introducing a bottle for about 3-4 weeks, I am so thankful that I saved my pump from when I had Theo. That’s a lot of money saved! I also saved Theo’s Boppy but went ahead and bought one of the new (and by new I mean they didn’t exist 4 years ago) Boppy newborn loungers which just look soooo comfy! Last but not least, my favorite purchases we’ve made so far, are the new Graco duo 2 in 1 swing and bouncer and my diaper bag. The swing is awesome because just like it suggests, you can use it as a swing or a bouncer. We bought it in the “Dempsey” pattern which Josh insists is a sign that if the baby’s a girl, that’s to be her name! The bag was a splurge (my birthday gift perhaps?) from Vera Bradley. Josh really feels like everything we’ve bought is more “boyish” than he’d like for a girl but you gotta do what you gotta do when you don’t know your baby’s gender. I’ve comforted him by reminding him that a baby girl can pull off a green seat with a big ol’ pink bow in her hair, wrapped in a pink blanket. A boy, however – as we learned with Parker ๐Ÿ™‚ – can not pull off a pink seat, no matter the accessories. Plus, my eye just automatically goes to the more boyish stuff – it’s a habit I guess.

The Boppy lounger. Wouldn't you want to lay your big bum in this thing all day!?

"Dempsey" swing and bouncer.

"Get Carried Away in Peacock" by Vera Bradley

I hope I didn’t bore you with all.of.the.details. but I’m excited ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it definitely sounds like we’re pretty prepared but I think I probably won’t feel prepared until we’re moved and settled – which unfortunately won’t be until the baby is 3 months old. I know it will all work out though.

Phew! What an update! It’s crazy to think that we’re 2/3 of the way there. 14 more weeks to go – or 98 more days, as the boys have begun their countdown! We can’t wait ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

