Day 19: 5 favorite blogs

Over the past few years, I’ve become quite a loyal blog reader. There are 5 blogs that I read every day and a few others that I occasionally check into. I’ve already written about my favorite blogger and what I love about her blog so I’m only going to write about 4 others today.

Screen Shot 2013-05-18 at 4.32.20 PM

1. Kath Eats Real Food

This was the first blog that I started reading on a regular basis. As you can probably gather from the name, it’s a healthy lifestyle blog that used to focus on what Kath ate every day. Reading about someone else’s lunch sounds a little dull but seeing her meals and reading and recreating her recipes was inspiring. Plus, the blog wasn’t only about her meals. She posted about running, races, fitness, gardening, green cleaning, product reviews, organization, and so on. Readers got to follow her along as she went to school to become a registered dietician and also as she and her husband opened their own bakery. Most recently, she has taken a step back from her blog, only posting a few times a week versus the 3 times a day that she wrote when I began reading back in 2010, due to becoming a mommy. Her blog has taught me an innumerable amount of information including how to make kale chips (my husband appreciates this) and introduced me to several of my favorite household items such as Shaklee cleaning products.

2. Daily Garnish

Daily Garnish was the first blog I found through reading Kath. It is written by Emily Malone, a trained chef who develops vegetarian (and some vegan) recipes in her own kitchen and then blogs about them. She also recently became a mom (and is already expecting #2!) so her blog has also changed significantly since I became a reader. Being a mother myself, I appreciate the splash of baby related information that now appears within the food posts. Reading about the meals she feeds her vegetarian baby and the kind of chemical free detergent that she’s found works best on cloth diapers has been helpful in my daily life.

3. Young House Love

Young House Love is probably my favorite blog right now. It is equally entertaining, informational and dangerous (for me, at least). YHL is written by a married, 30 something couple who both work at home renovating their house and doing every type of DIY project you can imagine. It’s entertaining because John and Sherry are ridiculously happy and funny. It’s informational because they have tried, and shared, how to do everything from completely gutting and renovating a kitchen to painting furniture to building their own headboard (a project that Josh and I intend to try our own hand at next month) and beyond. It’s dangerous because it makes me want to renovate a house which can be problematic when you live in military housing. Ha! You wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve already rearranged/redecorated this apartment. And we’ve only lived here for 45 days.

4. Eat, Live, Run

This one is another healthy lifestyle blog, which I’m sure you were able to figure out on your own. Written by Jenna Weber, a Le Cordon Bleu trained chef, who went to culinary school not to become a chef, but rather with the intention of becoming a food writer. Cool, huh? Jenna recently became a published author after she incorporated her favorite recipes into her own autobiography.

Basically, most of the blogs I read are centered around the same thing but leave me with a different impact made. It’s pretty amazing what a page of writings by a stranger can give to you.

One thought on “Day 19: 5 favorite blogs

Leave a Reply

