Day 22: Rant about something. Get up on your soapbox and tell us how you really feel.

Me: “What is something I could rant about?”

Josh: “Oh, honey, there’s a lot of somethings you can rant about.”

What could he mean by that… šŸ˜‰

I’m going to make this post quick because, quite frankly, I’m sick of posting! But I set out to do something so I’m going to finish it and blah, blah, blah.

Today I’m going to rant about something that I have been ranting about for the past 8 years. God bless-ed orange juice tabs. You know, the little white things with finger pulls that you have to yank off of your oj container when you first open it. I’m sure to most people these little pieces of plastic really aren’t that big of a deal, but to me, they are the devil.

Tropicana_ORange_Juice.gif

Josh and I moved in together when we were young – 18 and 21- so needless to say, we had quite the time becoming “roommates”. The closest we ever came to breaking up happened during the second month of cohabiting but that’s a different story.

Kinda.

You see, Josh does these things thatĀ drive me up the freaking wall and I used to take them personally. One of those things is opening a container of orange juice and leaving the tab on the counter. Or on top of the microwave. Or on the coffee pot. Other things include leaving dirty socks on our bedroom floor (or worse yet, hidden in our blankets), leaving kitchen cabinet doors open (how hard is it to close the damn door after you grab the pepper grinder), and smashing his hat down the side/back of the couch cushions, only to ask me the next morning if I’ve seen his hat.

But this rant is about the orange juice tabs.

To me, not placing that tab in the trash is the equivalent of fighting words. It makes me feel anger in the pit of my stomach and I’m ready to throw down. Well, at least I used to be. Until I realized that Josh does not do these things to hurt me (at one point, I really believed he did). Yes, he knows that these things make me crazy but they’re just little things that he has overlooked his entire life. Old habits die hard.

But this is a happy story. After about 6 solid years of oj induced arguments, Josh is in recovery. He no longer leaves the orange juice tabs on the counter because he forgot to throw them away – now he leaves them on the counter because “it’s our thing”.

*I have no idea why I call these things tabs but I always have and always will.Ā 

One thought on “Day 22: Rant about something. Get up on your soapbox and tell us how you really feel.

Leave a Reply

