Day 29: Random musings lately

I thought a little update of the random things going on around here and what’s been on my mind lately would be fun. It feels like we’re on the cusp of summer and things are getting exciting. We have a trip or a visitor planned for nearly every two weeks for the next three months and we’re all really happy about it. Here are some random things I’ve been thinking about lately.

IMG_3654

  • Parker got student of the month at his school. I’m so proud of this kid. Josh and I got to attend his ceremony together since my sister is here to stay with the little ones. It feels fantastic to have some help for a week.

IMG_3388

  • My sister’s flight came in at 11:50pm so the kids didn’t get to see her until the next morning. In the middle of the day, on the day she was arriving, Parker said, “Oh mom, today feels like the day before Christmas. I’m just so excited!” He really is just the sweetest boy but when he said this it made me think about how our children (and I’m sure most military children) really appreciate their extended family. I don’t think there has been a minute of their lives that they’ve taken family for granted. Maybe this is a small gift from military life.

IMG_3404

  • This boy is just getting so big. He’s officially staying up late. Well, until 8 o’clock. But this means more one on one time with him. There have been lots of card games played and hockey games watched. I like it.

IMG_3693

  • I found this “5” basket at HomeGoods. I was instantly in love with it since we’re a family of 5 (although I feel a little guilty that there’s no representation of Lolly). I’m obsessed with gallery walls and have rearranged this one about 8 times but I finally feel like I got it right. Below the 5 is a painting of Texas bluebonnets that I bought at a yard sale while we lived in TX. I regret that we never got to see the real fields of flowers. The smaller picture to the left is a chart of the Cape May harbor, specifically, exactly where we used to live when we lived in NJ. I love it.

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 9.45.22 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 9.45.35 PM

  • Theo’s recent resurgence in interest in costumes. He has always been a “dress up” kid but I was beginning to think he was growing out of it. A week ago he opened up his costume bin and there has been no turning back since.

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 9.46.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 9.46.19 PM

  • Ruby’s new interest in baby dolls. The cutest thing I’ve ever seen. She inherited her first baby from Theo who was also a baby doll kid and whom lovingly named this baby, “Ben Ben” after one of our sweet neighbor boys (he still, as a 5 year old, refers to this baby as a “him” even though it’s dressed in pink and purple). But I realized Ruby was more into dolls than I thought when our neighbor, who’s moving next week, placed a table and a sign reading “FREE” outside of our apartment. Among the things on the table was an unopened baby doll with extra clothes and a bottle. Ruby saw it as we were walking inside and started screaming and reaching towards it. We picked it up and opened it and now she loves it dearly. I was actually going to throw it away because I googled the manufacturer and it was made in China which makes me nervous but she won’t let this doll go. She giggles and kisses it every time she sees it. I feel like this is some sort proof in gender roles studies. She’s surrounded by a house full of legos, cars, transformers, dinosaurs, power rangers, bugs, etc and she loves all of them but she squeals for her baby dolls.

great_gatsby

  • The Great Gatsby. From the moment I heard Baz Luhrmann was the director I knew it was going to be a ridiculous production. Moulin Rouge was excellent and Romeo and Juliet was amazing but I just couldn’t imagine how he could “do” Gatsby. According to the reviews, I was right. Regardless, Leo is enough of a reason to make me download the book. As for the movie, I’ll just wait for the blu ray.

  • True Blood season 6. This new trailer is awesome. I can not wait for 2 and a half weeks.

Screen Shot 2013-05-29 at 9.24.33 AM

  • New York City public schools. I am highly impressed with the education that Parker is getting. The curriculum is far more advanced than any other school district we’ve attended. But I can not stand the negative attitude that seems to be part of the NYC culture. Since his very first day, Parker has said that he doesn’t like school because everyone is mean. Not mean to him personally but just generally grumpy. There’s a lot of yelling that goes on within the school and the way they go about discipline is annoying to him – Parker NEVER (ever in his life at school) gets into any sort of trouble, yet he gets punished in some way nearly every day because all of the kids are lumped together when it comes to discipline. For instance, if 6 kids in his class are being loud in the hallway, the entire class loses 5 or 10 minutes of recess. On one hand, I understand that dealing with the discipline of 27 kids per class has to be tough, but on the other hand I understand why this makes school an unpleasant atmosphere for Parker. Last night at the school board meeting, Josh and I got a taste of what school must be like for Parker. Like I said earlier, we were invited to attend because Parker was awarded student of the month. We arrived feeling excited and happy to celebrate our son but within 5 minutes we were literally being yelled at because the ceremony apparently fell on the same night as PTA elections and no attending parents were volunteering to run for election. “PEOPLE! These are your children! If there’s no PTA, there’s no fundraisers! We can’t make our school better for our kids if no parents volunteer!” First of all, the PTA never even informed the parents that there was an election. Maybe if we wouldn’t have been completely blindsided more parents would have been prepared to volunteer. They ended up bullying one single mom into joining and then they asked for leadership volunteers. I raised my hand because of course I’d like to volunteer and help out with the school – I just don’t want to be the President of the PTA yet. Other mothers also volunteered which then meant that they had too many volunteers and we had to vote. Are you freaking kidding me? I was apparently mistaken when I thought we were going to the school to take pictures of our kid smiling with the Principal. After a completely disorganized spectacle of a vote, there was a tie and we had to revote. Seriously. Throughout this entire process, the PTA women were yelling at everyone for not voting correctly (although it was their own fault that people were confused) so by the time they said, “revote” I was fuming. I looked at Parker and said, “If you get student of the month again, we’re going out for ice cream – and not coming back to this nut house.” to which he replied, “Now you see why I don’t like school here. Are you ready to homeschool me yet?”Touche little man. Anyway, I ended up getting elected so now I’m just thrilled with the thought of the many pleasant meetings to come. The PTA then had open discussion but when no parents had anything to complain about or suggest (just in general) we all started getting scolded again for not contributing enough to our children. I seriously felt like I was in trouble for 50 out of the 60 minutes we were there. I can’t imagine being a kid in that sort of environment every day and I feel awful for Parker. But my feelings on letting him withdraw are enough for an entire separate post. Hell, my feelings from last night were enough for an entire separate post. 🙂
Leave a Reply

