Shrimp tacos, Cuban black beans and a night out

IMG_4155

A night outside, that is.

If you don’t have outdoor furniture, just take your furniture outdoors. While whistling dueling banjos. Because you’re a hillbilly.

A few people have asked me about recipes lately so I’ve decided to try and make more of an effort to post a little more of what we eat. Last night I made shrimp tacos with slow cooker Cuban black beans and a homemade yummy sauce that I made up on the spot. I’ll spare you the pictures that I took inside while preparing the meal because the lighting in my kitchen is ugly.

IMG_4159

IMG_4160

To begin with, I put a pot of water on to boil the shrimp. While the water heated, I chopped the veggies (red onion, tomato, cabbage) and made the sauce. I didn’t measure anything but if I had to guess I’d say it was probably 1/4 cup of fresh cilantro. Wait, does anyone else cringe when they say the word “fresh” or is it just me? Something about that word. Just say it. Right now, say “fresh” and see if you get what I’m saying. Ugh.

Okay, back to the sauce. 1/4 a cup of cilantro, 1/2 of a lime juice, about 2 tablespoons of sour cream, and about 1/4 of a cup of salsa verde all pureed together in the food processor and then set aside. After the water came to a boil, I threw in the 2 lbs of raw shrimp and let it cook for about 5 minutes. While the shrimp boiled, I placed some flour tortillas in the oven to warm and melted a little butter down in a cast iron pan. To the butter I added a little garlic, some cumin, chile powder and a dash of paprika. I strained the shrimp and transferred it to the cast iron pan to cook a little in the butter sauce.

In the meantime, I took the black beans that had been cooking for 8 hours out of the slow cooker and into a serving dish. Earlier in the morning I had dumped just an eyeball measure of dried black beans into the slow cooker along with enough water to just cover them, one jalepeno pepper (no seeds), 3 cloves of garlic, half of a white onion diced, a little cumin and a little salt. They cooked on low for 5 hours and then I switched them to high for the last 3. I placed everything (including 2 other salsas) in serving dishes and let everyone serve themselves.

IMG_4162

IMG_4165

IMG_4167

We also had TJ’s organic mango lemonade to drink. Adult’s with, and kid’s without, tequila.

IMG_4169

And then we cleaned up and blew bubbles.

IMG_4184

And played a game of UNO Attack!

IMG_4200

IMG_4223

All at our kitchen table on the balcony.

I think this means it’s Summer.

Leave a Reply

