Woolzies: My first review and giveaway!

IMG_4757

A little over a month ago I was contacted by Soft by Nature and asked to review one of their products – Woolzies. Woolzies are 100% natural wool dryer balls meant to replace the chemical laden, scented dryer sheets that most people use. After I researched them a little bit, I thought it was a perfect product for our family to review since I’m always trying to find products and ways to help keep chemicals out of our house (like I detailed in this post). It’s also perfect because Josh happens to be a static freak and throws temper tantrums when his favorite polyester Adidas pants cling to his legs. We’ve been using them for a month now so,

Do they get rid of static cling?

Yes, for the most part. They worked 100% for about 2 weeks and then JoshΒ I noticed a little static creeping back so I did what the instructions told me to do in case this happened. I put each ball inside of a sock and washed them with a load of laundry. This seemed to do the trick and we’re back to no static.

Do they really cut back on drying time?

I think so. I’m not positive because I’ve never paid attention to how long loads take to dry without Woolzies. For instance, I set my dryer timer at a certain time every time but I don’t know if they’re actually dry before the timer goes off. I did notice once when I needed to get some baseball gear out early that the entire load was dry about 20 minutes before the timer was set to go off. All 6 dryer balls were in with this load so it’s possible that it was caused by the Woolzies.

Are they loud, bouncing around in the dryer?

Not loud but you can notice that there’s something different going on in the dryer. It’s nothing I’d complain about though.

IMG_4758

What do they smell like?

I was a little nervous about the smell since I know what scent elicits from scrubbing my wool rug but Woolzies don’t smell like anything at all. Actually, you can add drops of essential oils to add a fragrance to your loads of laundry.

Any complaints?

The only complaint that I have about Woolzies is that they get lost throughout your laundry. My laundry room is so small that I have to take the clothes out of the dryer at an angle (rather than while standing in front of the dryer) so it’s a bit of a pain in the ass when a rogue dryer ball flies out from inside of a shirt and rolls across the floor. Also, on a minor note, my dog gets them confused with tennis balls πŸ™‚

Whether or not we purchase another pack once this one wears out depends on how long they actually last. If they meet up to the claims then yes, I’ll be a Woolzies customer for life.

Woolzies are extremely cost effective. Purchasing directly from the website, they cost $34.95 with free shipping. At first glance this price looks outrageous for a laundry product but they’re guaranteed to last for 1,000 loads. That’s an average cost of about 4 cents per load. You can also buy them for a buck cheaper on Amazon or a 3 pack for $18. For all of the details on how and why these wool balls work, or if you want to purchase a pack visitΒ woolzies.comΒ or check out their facebook page.

In the meantime, Soft by Nature has also been kind enough to give one of my readers their very own complimentary 6 pack of Woolzies shipped directly to your house. To enter, leave a comment, along with your email address, explaining what your family does to be a little “greener” (your email will not be used for anything besides contacting you when you win!). For a bonus entry, follow This Organic Life by clicking the follow button on the top right and signing up via WordPress or email. You must enter by Wednesday, July 17 at 6pm. Good luck!

IMG_4762

 

 

IΒ received no monetary compensation for writing this review, however the product was given to me complimentary. All opinions expressed are my own.Β 

22 thoughts on “Woolzies: My first review and giveaway!

  1. They sound like a great product! I would love to try it. I quit using anything in the dryer when I switched to soap nuts for washing a couple of years ago and most of my clothes are hung dry so it’s not much of an issue. But towels and sheets still need something. I found soft balls at Ross that sound like a similar product and they seem to work ok, but I don’t believe they meet the “green” standard, unless you count the fact that they reduce the use and purchase or regular dryer sheets. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity! I’ve got a giveaway running on my blog too for coconut oil if you’re interested. http://thejourneyoftwo.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/win-a-gallon-of-organic-gold-label-virgin-coconut-oil-from-tropical-traditions/ Oh, and as for how we work at being greener…let me count the ways…I’m a recycling fanatic (I have to collect, sort, and deliver it where we currently live), I’m all about natural/organic and eco-friendly products, I make my own products when I can…I’m currently working on sunscreen and bug repellent solutions. These are just a few of my crunchy lifestyle choices. πŸ™‚

  2. This sounds very intriguing. I would definitely give it a try! We make our own laundry detergent! I made my first batch in February and there is still about half left! It is wonderful stuff, My husband is in the coast guard and it hasn’t faded his uniforms at all. I have the recipe on my blog if you are interested. I also make my own foundation powder, which I absolutely love, and I make my own all purpose cleaner.

    • That’s awesome Kelly! I’m definitely going to check out your blog. I’ve found a few “recipes” for laundry detergent on Pinterest but I’ve never tried any. I need to get on that! Thanks for your entry and good luck!

  3. We just started cloth diapering my daughter a few months ago! Wish I had done so with my son 3 years ago. We also try to recycle or use reuseable bottles to cut down on waste.

    • I’m in the same boat Vivian! We have cloth diapered our daughter since she was born but we never did with out sons and I so wish we would have! Good luck!

  4. Just came across your blog a week ago in searching for organic recipes and how other families have made the complete switch to organic/clean eating. I have been on this road for about 6 months now and it is a rocky, bumpy one trying to figure all of it out! love your blog! I make my own laundry soap to be green, I have started using greener diapers and cleaning agents or natural products to clean with I am trying to rid my house of chemicals in our bodies and around our house in our environment. Would love to try this new product!

    • Thank you Heather! And it is a tough switch to make and there’s SO much information that most people don’t know but educating yourself is definitely worth it! Good luck!

  5. I recently started composting my organic waste in an effort to reduce the amount of trash I send to the landfill. Between composting and the recycling we do, we sometimes don’t have enough trash to put out on the curb every week, which I’m very happy about! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the opportunity to win these dryer balls!

  6. We used to be paper plate-aholics, but we have since cut that habit down drastically! We also use cloth diapers, cloth napkins, and rags instead of paper towels.

  7. We always use totes when shopping, farmers markets, glass straws and such. We have been getting more green with our food lately. We have been artificial dye free for a year but have been more aggressive in avoiding gmo.

Leave a Reply

