Breakfast ice cream!

Well. Since I’ll never live up to my posts from earlier this week I’m just going to ahead and share a simple recipe đŸ™‚

We are huge smoothie drinkers here. So huge that I actually killed my blender a few weeks ago while making one. I still haven’t bought a new blender yet so we’ve had tons of frozen fruit in our freezer with nothing to use it for. For some reason, this week I went way overboard with the amount of fruit I bought while grocery shopping (berries and melons and stone fruits, oh my!) and I started to notice little, teeny, fruit flies invading our basket. Rather than throw away the browning bananas that the people in my family are terrified of, I peeled them and threw them in the freezer. And then this morning, I asked the boys if they wanted ice cream for breakfast.

IMG_4806I threw one whole frozen banana into my food processor, along with some frozen mixed berries and a little orange juice. I eyeballed everything but just make sure you don’t use too much juice because then you’ll just have a thick smoothie rather than sorbet. Puree it for as long as it takes to reach the consistency that you’re going for and add more fruit or more juice to help the process.

IMG_4808And then voila! You’ve got breakfast ice cream.

IMG_4810Best enjoyed outside in your pj’s. Even if it’s raining.

IMG_4809Just beware of brain freeze!

IMG_4814Don’t forget there’s only a few days left to enter the Woolzies giveaway! Just post a comment over here, letting me know what your family does to be a little bit greener. 

Leave a Reply

