Random

  • A friend posted this quote on Facebook and I love it.

“In 20 years you’ll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can’t grasp now how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked.”

  • Ruby is a champion eater. The other day I had tuna mixed with a little mayo for lunch. The boys tasted it and made ugly faces but Ruby tasted it and asked for more. She ended up sharing it all with me. It just tickles me when she tries and likes new foods.IMG_4828
  • It sucks to read nasty comments about your writing. I knew this would happen when I agreed to The Huffington Post and I promised myself that I wouldn’t comment back but one night I drank a little too much and the next thing I knew I was replying to one of them. It has been easy to blow off most of the comments because they’re just so crazy but one lady really got to me when she said that my entire post was just a typical military wife, complaining and looking for sympathy. It’s also not so nice to hear antimilitary people say that we just use the government to live a middle class life and we shouldn’t have kids. I’m trying just to focus on the 1,000+ people who have “liked” the post.
  • I’m pretty sure Ruby’s a lefty. I know they say you can’t tell this young but if she picks something up with her right hand, she will immediately switch it to her left. She throws with her left hand and colors with her left hand. Josh used to joke that he was going to tie our boys’ right hand behind their back so they’d learn to be southpaws so it’s pretty funny that his only daughter may be one.
  • Over 12 years ago I told Josh something that my grandma used to say to me and since then he has said it too. When I was little, and I’d start to tell her something but then forget, she’d say, “It must have been a lie.” which is what her mother had said to her when she was little. The other day I forgot what I was saying and without missing a beat Josh said, “It must have been a lie.” It made me smile to think of how a small bit of mammy’s mother, who died in 1966, was still being passed on. I wonder if someone said it to her when she was a child.IMG_4831
  • Parker and Theo tried bologna for the first time last week and they both hated it. Parker said that it was “offensive”. Ha!
  • My husband is hot. He’s trying out a new hair style (as much of a style as you can have in the CG) and I love it. He’s a little insecure about it still because it’s completely different than he’s ever had but I think it looks great.IMG_4957
  • All I want to do is go to the beach. Every day. I’m so pissed that I took the four years we lived next to the beach in Cape May for granted.
  • Parker and I used a public bathroom while we were at the beach last weekend and we both died laughing over a “poem” that was written on the wall. I’ll spare you the actual words because it was pretty vulgar but it reminded me of a cross stitch that used to hang in the bathroom of Josh’s childhood home –

“Goodness gracious what a caper,

here I sit without no paper.

My train is due, I must not linger.

One, two, three here goes my finger!”

hahaha! I’ve called dibs on that family heirloom! 🙂

IMG_4817

  • After several times of Sirius radio charging our bank card without our permission, Josh was fed up and called and cancelled. We’ve had Sirius for over two years so not having it is an adjustment. The first day we didn’t have it Theo asked us to turn on Radio Disney about 35 times before he finally understood that we no longer have Radio Disney, Parker complained that FM “doesn’t sound as good”, and I complained about all of the commercials. It’s only a matter of time before we’ve all worked Josh enough to call and resubscribe.
  • Speaking of the radio. I am obsessed with this song (though I haven’t heard it yet on FM radio).
  • This song too. 
  • Weddings make me bawl. I love weddings. I cried while watching Prince William and Kate Middleton’s wedding on tv. I cry when I look at Facebook friends’ wedding pictures. Most recently one of my favorite bloggers got married and I cried while scrolling through her wedding post. The funny thing is that I never had a wedding. I can honestly say that I never wanted one for myself but I would be devastated if any of my kids chose not to have a wedding.
  • I ordered my first Stitch Fix and I can’t wait for it to arrive. Stitch Fix is basically an online personal stylist. You pay $20, fill out an extensive questionnaire to help them determine your style and then they mail you a box filled with a few different clothing and accessory pieces. You can choose to ship it all back (they provide you with a postage paid envelope) or keep what you want, in which case the $20 that you already paid will go towards your purchase. I thought it was hysterical that one of the questions was “Are you a mom?” Super important when it comes to style! In case you want to try it out for yourself, here’s a link that would give me a sharing credit towards my next “fix”. 
  • Lastly, don’t forget the Woolzies giveaway ends tomorrow night! Just go tell me what your family does to be a little greener in the comment section of that post for a chance to win!
3 thoughts on “Random

Leave a Reply

