We painted. Again.

“We agreed that we’re not painting another inch of this house. We’re beat. And over painting houses that don’t belong to us.”

This is what I wrote just over a month ago and yet here we are, 5 hours of work and $90 later and we’ve painted our living room. It’s annoying but it’s just a part of this lifestyle. You gotta do what you gotta do to make your current house feel like home and painting is an easy way to do that.

To help us decide on a color, we used two different apps, asked for opinions on Facebook, looked through This Old House magazines and Pottery Barn catalogs and checked out a few different blogs as well. I always go for blues, browns and greens so I was really trying to come up with something new but what we ended up choosing falls into my same old category. I guess I like what I like. After driving Josh nuts with my indecisiveness, I saw a picture and knew it was what I wanted.

Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 5.45.27 PM

This room caught my eye because of the dark to white contrast. Our living room has the same contrasts. I also love the accent wall and thought it would be a nice touch to our living space with it’s weird walls and low ceilings. I’ve never done an accent wall in any of our other houses and actually, I remember a few years ago when my friend, whom I always go to for decorating advice, told me she was repainting her house because “accent walls are out”, but I love this room in the picture so I thought we should go for it. The colors on the walls are Benjamin Moore’s tea light and azores but since I’m a cheap skate, I just went to Home Depot, used the Benjamin Moore app and found Behr’s comparable colors ($10 a gallon cheaper). We ended up with mountain haze and smokey slate.

Benjamin Moore colors Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 8.26.52 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 7.29.04 PM

Behr colors Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 7.27.39 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-20 at 8.06.15 PM

Mountain haze definitely has more yellow than tea light and smokey slate has more gray than azores but they’re pretty damn close to being the same colors. We bought two gallons of the the lighter shade and a quart of the darker. We also invested in nice, pricier than normal rollers. Josh read that a specific type of roller will cut the time and the amount of paint that it takes, in half. It turns out he was right because we have an entire gallon left that was never opened.

When we painted our bedroom, Josh did the edges by hand and we think this is why it took forever. This time, he taped the room off and then edged it all while I rolled. Of course we had to work around Ruby, making and eating dinner, and getting the kids to bed but over all it took us about 5 hours with everything included. We both agreed that this time painting was the easiest experience we’ve ever had. I think this is due to a few factors including, good equipment, margaritas and the fact that we’re nearing painting pro status. It was such a breeze, in fact, that we’re now also going to paint the dining room (and we’re considering the kids’ rooms too).  We’re just taking it nice and easy though so another room may not have color for another month.

IMG_5088

IMG_5087

IMG_5092

These pictures are a little yellowed. We had bad cloudy lighting today.

I absolutely love how it turned out. And even though we were both nervous about the accent wall we’re really happy with the end result.

In the meantime, while we’re working up the desire to paint the dining room, we hung some curtains in the big, empty room.

IMG_5101

IMG_5107

Almost four months in and it feels like it’s starting to come together!

4 thoughts on “We painted. Again.

  1. I’ve been slowly converting everything in my house to organic based products. First I started off with my food, and then clothes. Now, I want to remodel my house to not only be organic, but to incorporate as much green technology as possible. After researching tons of organic clay paint, or milk paints, I’ve decided on my brand and now I just need to pick out colors. What color’s would you suggest for a room with a medium grey carpet?

Leave a Reply

