Random

  • EVERYONE needs to be watching Newsroom. Holy cow, it’s great tv.
  • We’re going to a preseason Giants game this weekend. It’s the first pro game for all of us but I’m mostly just excited because they’re playing the Colts and I love Andrew Luck. I choose my favorite athletes based on their morals and character rather than their athletic ability or team and I’ll probably spend the entire game telling the boys how awesome Luck is and how they should grow up to be like him.
  • I want to watch a real life baby delivery so badly. The entire labor and delivery process is so fascinating and awesome to me. Someone please invite me into the delivery room! photo 9687e82c-7399-4980-860a-94cfa6143ab2_zps7785bff1.jpg
  • We have less than four weeks of summer break left and while I can’t believe how fast this summer has flown by, I am beyond ready for fall. I’m ready for leaves and pumpkins and cool days and prime time television. Sweaters, boots and scarves, comfort meals and mums. I’m getting the boys back into school mode and reinstated 20 minutes a day dedicated to reading. I also ordered Theo’s school uniforms this week. I can’t believe in four weeks I’ll have a Kindergartener and a 3rd grader.
  • Speaking of prime time television, previews for everything are starting to come out – including Homeland, the holy grail of tv. Just watching the three minute clip, most of which was just a rehashing of last season, made me cry.
  • Ben & Jerry’s employees are allowed to take home three pints of B&J’s every day. I would be so fat. photo IMG_5599_zps53ef97f1.jpg
  • Josh’s dad has a great sense of civic duty and over the past few years I’ve really started to see it coming out in Josh as well. I was so proud of him when he came home and told me that he had contacted the mother of a little boy with cancer whom he found on Instagram while looking through #USCG. Apparently the boy had spent some of his time in the hospital putting together a toy Coast Guard boat, which his mother then posted a picture of, so Josh asked for their address and sent a Coast Guard themed gift basket for the boy. It’s so awesome when social media is used for good.
  • Parker and Theo call our family “the trolls” since we live under the Verrazano bridge.
  • The boys signed up for golf lessons this week. They start next Tuesday. The cuteness that will be Theo carrying his golf clubs is unbearable. photo IMG_5820_zps4963234f.jpg
  • An example of how girls are different from boys – around 18 months, Theo figured out how to climb over our baby gate. Around 18 months, Ruby figured out how to take down the same baby gate.
  • A few weeks ago I mentioned that I have a lot of little idiosyncrasies like how I can’t sleep with the closet door open. Another one that I’ve noticed lately is that I need open doors to be open all the way. I hate it if the door isn’t touching the door stop and will push the door open as I pass if it’s not. Weird. I know.
  • Parker is a YouTube fanatic and found a series of videos of the world’s greatest pictures. He shared it with me and while I’m not sure if they’re real or not, they’re fantastic. His interest in the pictures made me break out my old Life photo books from when I was obsessed with photography in high school. He and I sat for a good hour looking through the Youtube photos and then through my old books talking about history and the role that photos play. It was a lot of fun and one of those moments you imagine having as a parent.
2 thoughts on “Random

  1. I can’t wait for homeland to come back on! The promo was so intensely emotional…this season is going to be crazy.

    Loved the boy vs girl approach to the baby gate!

  2. Yay! Another Homeland fan 🙂 Time Warner cut Showtime and I’m patiently giving them a chance to pick it up again before I cancel (I would over Homeland!) It is so weird, considering all of his issues, but there may never have been another television character that I’m more attracted to than Brody. haha!

Leave a Reply

