House tour: Miss Ruby’s room.

Since the time Ruby was just a baby in my belly, I’ve scoured Pinterest, blogs and websites drooling over baby nurseries. At this point I’m basically addicted and still check out Project Nursery and Ohdeedoh a few times a week even though my kids’ rooms are just about finished. Excitedly, I’ll have a new house to decorate within the next two or three years so I guess I like to stay ahead of the game 😉

This weekend, I decided that the extra gallon of paint that we had left from the living room would probably work in Ruby’s room. She has a huge bay window which brings in ton of light so I knew the color would look different there than it does in the living room. Having two older boys, you’d expect I’d be all pink and purple but actually I still go for blues and greens for Ruby, just girlier shades like teal, turquoise, mint, and lime. With the arrival of the rug that I ordered and the walls painted, we can officially call it dunzo! So here’s the rundown.

 photo IMG_6182_zpsc4102eb4.jpg

 photo IMG_6181_zpsd4fa4c12.jpg

 photo IMG_6186_zpsc137feff.jpg

 photo IMG_6191_zps0db2520b.jpg

 photo IMG_6194_zps62550731.jpg

 photo IMG_6197_zps21f768d6.jpg

 photo IMG_6220_zpsbfc8bb67.jpg

Crib: The Jenny Lind crib. I held out for nearly four months after Ruby was born while this beauty was out of stock everywhere. I finally got it through Amazon.

Sheets and crib skirt: Target and a $2 yard sale find, respectively.

Quilt: Handmade by our aunt.

Mirror: Target. It was originally dark brown and hung in our bedroom. We sprayed it yellow.

Wall hanging: Homemade with paper garland from Glitter and Grain, a dowel rod and two small hooks.

Rocking Horse: a $15 yard sale find that we sprayed purple.

Rug: Urban Outfitters.

Light Fixture: Ikea.

Curtains: Ikea. I bought these curtains nearly 10 years ago and can’t remember ever hanging them but I thought they were perfect for a whimsical little girl’s room.

Dresser: Ikea. I love Ikea furniture (price point, modernish design) for kids rooms but I hate the cheapish looking hardware so we spent an extra $30 and switched out the pulls.

Gallery wall art: All of the framed art are free printables and scrap book paper. The “R” is a $1 wooden letter from Michaels that I, wait for it… spray painted blue. The “Let her sleep…” hoop art is from Atticus & Cole and the “Hey girl” hoop art is from Catshy Crafts.  All of the frames are Ikea and Target (some sprayed 🙂 ).

Chevron Toy Bin: Homegoods.

Little blue chair: Greenhouse in Serenbe, GA. Bought plain wood and sprayed turquoise.

Bookshelves: Ikea.

And there you have it. Miss Ruby’s bedroom. My favorites of the room include her crib, her quilt, the blue chair and the wall hanging.  A few other things – I’m ordering pink paper garland to replace the mint since the color is now blending into the wall color. I’m also going to eventually buy her an Expedit shelf and make a window seat something like this – but with lots of pillows and storage for toys.

2010-07-bline_sm2

A major DIY post coming later this week!

Leave a Reply

