A lake house.

If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world, what would you do?

Originally, I made this really hard. I over thought and over analyzed what my “current life” is. I think for people with careers it’s easy to think about stepping away and taking a three month vacation but for someone like me, being a mother and a wife is not something I’d ever step away from for any period of time so I just can’t imagine what I’d do.

Next I thought about the prompt in the sense of three months to do whatever we wanted that we’d never be able to do again. Of course travel the world seemed like a logical answer and is something I’d want to do if, perhaps, I only had three months left to live or something. But that didn’t seem right either so I boiled the prompt down a little more and just thought about freedom. If our family was free from responsibility for three months, what would I do? My answer for that is so easy. I would just sit.

We’re constantly on the go and for the most part I love it. Since I met Josh, one of the things I’ve loved about him is how spontaneous he is. He hates sitting around and doesn’t care how far away something is or how much something costs, if he gets it in his mind to do it, he’ll just go do it. Living in New York for the past five months has taken this to a new level because there is so much to do. He told me that he just feels like we have to do it because this is our shot. Of course he’s right and I’m so thankful for all of the experiences I’ve had because of his spirit of adventure but the truth is, if I could take three months off from my current life it would be to just relax. On a lake. I would rent a gorgeous cabin on a lake and spend my summer fishing, and swimming, and running, and cooking, drinking by a fire, riding bikes, kayaking, making s’mores and catching fireflies with the boys, sleeping in a hammock in the middle of the day, reading, never ever opening Facebook, laughing with our friends who come up for the weekend and never leaving the peace of our lake house. For three months. photo 1630de787e9825b04117bfa1a2e6acf6_zps79b869e9.jpg

I’m googling lake house rentals right now.

2 thoughts on “A lake house.

  1. Pingback: A 3 Month Vacay… | BPKitchen

Leave a Reply

