The Holidays

I’ve completely neglected the blog. Well, actually, compared to our summertime whirlwind weekend activities we just haven’t done anything worth blogging about lately. Don’t worry though, with the holidays coming up we have plenty planned. Thanksgiving is going to be awesome. We’re doing something that I’ve wanted to do my entire life – going to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade! Seven years ago I wrote a “life list” and the parade was one of the things listed so I’m pretty excited to have the opportunity to go this year. After the parade Josh and I are planning on cooking a hugely indulgent meal for just the five of us and then participating in the 2nd annual Kistler family turkey drawing contest, watching Christmas movies all night and putting the star on top of the tree.Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 10.10.19 PM

Speaking of the tree, I already put ours up. There is a reason I was born 4 days after Christmas. I decided to decorate for Christmas exactly one week after Halloween because it is our tradition to put the tree up on Thanksgiving night but this year, Thanksgiving is so late in the month that it would only leave us with 3 weeks to enjoy our winter wonderland before we head off to Ohio for the entire week of Christmas. We will be opening presents in a hotel room this year so damn it I’m going to get my fill of glittery bulbs, twinkling lights and pine scented candles before then. I changed things up a bit this year. For the past seven years I’ve had a lime green and red tree but this year I went a little more traditional with reds, golds, whites and silvers and I am in love. We decided not to do a real tree since we won’t be here for Christmas but I added two extra strands of lights to our pre lit faux tree and covered it in ornaments. There are so many ornaments, the boys started putting them on the inside branches where you can’t even see them because there was no other space. It is glorious. 

Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 10.00.47 PM

For my birthday we are planning on having a “random acts of kindness day”. I HATE my birthdays and actually get kind of depressed every year during that time (getting older + the end of the holiday buzz) so I saw an idea on Pinterest and my mind ran with it. One of my Facebook friends actually just did this with her kids for Veteran’s Day and it got me even more excited about our plans for my birthday. We’re going to go around and do small good deeds throughout the day, like pay for a stranger’s meal, return all of the shopping carts left throughout a parking lot, leave a $5 bill in the toy section at Target for an unsuspecting kid to find, visit an animal shelter and spend time with the animals and so on. Actually, if anyone has any good ideas let me know. I’d love out of the box suggestions. Last year I had the absolute best birthday I’ve ever had thanks to Josh so I’m hoping that this year will be even better.

My sister will be here for New Year’s and though we’ll be just 15 miles from the ball dropping in Times Square, there is no way in hell you’ll find me there. Instead we’ll probably be decked out in New Year’s garb, eating decadent ice cream sundaes and playing board games on the floor while we all try our hardest to stay up til midnight. The boys love New Year’s Eve so that night is all about them and what they like to do.

Screen Shot 2013-11-15 at 9.43.50 PM

Hopefully somewhere within all of this we get some snow. I mentioned before that we’re getting the boys sleds for Christmas and there is a perfect sledding hill right down the street. They actually played in the snow for maybe the third time in their lives a few days ago. Sadly, Josh’s grandma passed away after a four year fight with residual effects from a freak accident. We traveled back to Ohio to attend her calling hours and funeral and to just be with our family. The day we left New York, Ohio got a few inches of snow that the boys were able to enjoy while we were there. Theo made his first snow angel (face down – he’s learning 😉 ) and Parker rolled his first giant snowball with the intentions of building a snowman that never seemed to pan out. Afterwards, Josh’s uncle dared the boys to run outside in only their underwear and of course my crazy boys were delighted to accept the challenge. It was hysterical and one of those moments where you try to burn what you’re feeling into your brain. Seeing the boys enjoying life, being a little wild and having a blast spending time with family that they don’t get to see often was awesome.

 photo photo-101_zpsd1ac79e8.jpg

I can’t believe this year is already coming to an end. It has, very possibly, been the fastest year of my life but you know, they say time flies when you’re having fun so I guess it’s a good thing. Happy Holidays to everyone and hopefully I’ll be popping in a little more often.

 

Leave a Reply

