It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

That’s what Theo told Ruby yesterday when she got a little whiney before dinner. “Ruby don’t whine. It’s the most wonderful time of the year!” He is right. I’ve said before that I am the least grinchy person I know and I’m proudly passing that on to my kids. They love everything about the holidays.

Yesterday was quite possibly the best day of my year. I read this the other day on danielleburkleo.com and teared up a little because it’s accurate.

In the day in and day out I usually don’t see my kids as the little people they are turning into. I want to always see them like this, but usually the yelling, crying, and changing diapers all day blurs my vision. I feel like all moms have blurry vision 98% of the time. But then, sometimes, that other 2% creeps in. When you’re sitting on the couch at the end of the day, eyes bleeding from being so tired, and you remember that one thing they did today. You couldn’t appreciate in that moment, but right then, when you’re belly laughing telling your husband all about it, you appreciate it so much more. 

Basically my entire yesterday was that 2%. Nobody fought. Nobody yelled. Nobody cried (well except Ruby but that’s to be expected from a 20 month old) and we all just genuinely enjoyed each other all day. Josh and I had decided to play the parade by ear since they were contemplating not being able to blow up the balloons due to high winds. We woke up yesterday morning and watched Al Roker yell, “The balloons will fly!” so we hopped out of bed, told the boys we were going and got everyone out the door just as the parade was beginning.

The drive into the city was fantastic because there was zero traffic. It was like a different city. It took us about 20 minutes to get to Josh’s office where we parked and took the train up to 34th street. Even the subway was glorious since we practically had the entire car to ourselves.

PicMonkey Collage

Of course because we were late, we were limited with how close we could get to the actual parade route. As we walked to try and find a good spot, we were lucky enough to get up close with some of the balloons and floats that had already walked the route. I never took out my real camera but I snapped a bunch of photos with my phone. We finally found a great spot along 7th ave and were able to see some of the boys’ favorite characters floating along. Even though it was fa-reezing it was an incredible experience and I can’t wait to go again next year.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.37.51 AM

While we were in the city, something happened that made my heart swell. As we were walking down 8th ave we passed a man with a sign that read, “HOMELESS”. Theo and I followed behind everyone else and he gently tugged on my hand after we had made it a few paces passed the man. He said, “Mom, I just saw a man who doesn’t have a house or an apartment and he needs money so he can get one like us. Can I give him some of our money?”

My vision with Theo is very often blurry. He is a very loud, wild and defiant kid by nature so I find myself worrying about him all the time. But then he snaps his fingers in front of my face and I see that he is just such an incredible person already.

After the parade we came home and got the turkey in the oven, FaceTimed some family, watched Home Alone and drew turkeys for the contest we started last year. Everyone has to come up with, draw and color a themed turkey which we then post on Facebook for all of our friends and family to vote on. Parker was 2012’s winner but this year Theo and I pulled off a tie. I was shocked because I thought Josh’s turkey was hysterical. I’ve recently become obsessed with Duck Dynasty and have been making Josh watch countless episodes every night to get caught up so he channeled my obsession into his masterpiece Turkey Dynasty. I might frame it.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.01.37 AM

We finished up dinner, Parker made his own pumpkin pie for the second year and Theo set the table and helped carry all of the food from the kitchen. Both boys made comments that this was the best Thanksgiving in part because they got to help so much. They loved it. After eating and cleaning up we all sat down in the typical food coma to watch Charlie Brown and ended the night with Theo putting the star on top of the tree.

PicMonkey Collage2

I spent the day blowing up my Facebook and Instagram feeds but I’m not sorry. We don’t get to spend every holiday with people we love and I like to share our experiences with everyone we’re missing. Plus I’m just really, really happy right now. With all of that, it’s officially Christmastime! And we woke up this morning to this little guy.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 10.37.05 AM

One thought on “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Leave a Reply

