Randoms

Remember when I said that we were sick of spending money and tired of spending energy on houses that don’t belong to us? Well, after painting the spare room as well as our second living space and entry way, we’ve just about covered the entire apartment. The only rooms left are the bathrooms, the kitchen and the hallway which I plan to have finished by the new year (only the hallway – I’m not doing the other three. For real.) Josh continues to bring up laying laminate wood flooring to cover up the disgustingly ugly tile that is in our second living area but I’m not as interested in tackling that one. Our nice big wool rug does the trick for me.

We moved Ruby’s bedroom into the spare room (hence why we painted it) and I am so happy with how it turned out. I absolutely love decorating and organizing so spending an entire Saturday redoing a bedroom is my idea of a good time.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 9.08.11 PM

While Josh and I were preoccupied with Rubes’ room we all neglected Lolly and she pooped right by the door. Usually she comes to me and then Parker but since she couldn’t get to either of us (Park was in the shower) she did what she had to do. Why am I telling you this? Because it has apparently scarred Ruby. Lolly never has accidents so when Ruby saw the mess on the floor she immediately started crying and hasn’t stopped telling us “Lolly poot! Bad!” every single day, multiple times a day since Saturday. It’s kind of hysterical.

It is so annoying to me when people make comments about how awful it is to say happy holidays rather than merry Christmas. For one, it’s the holiday season, not just Christmas time. There’s Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas and the New Year all within the month. Secondly, I have never heard anyone say “You’re not allowed to say merry Christmas!” so I don’t understand why people take offense to happy holidays. Quit being petty and just appreciate when someone wishes you happiness.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 9.10.13 PM

Really strange fact: Parker and I have this thing with words. First, there are several that we can’t stand, including the obvious – moist. But also, slice, flesh, fresh, packet, and so on. We also – now this gets really weird – think of letters as if they’re boys and girls. I have done this my whole life but I randomly discovered that Parker does too so we ran through the alphabet and compared thoughts. Like, A’s a girl, B’s a girl, C’s a girl, D’s a girl, E’s a boy, F’s a boy etc. Interestingly enough, the gender of Parker’s ABC’s are pretty different from mine but I’m positive that such a quirk shared between mother and son must mean we’re geniuses. I mean, what else could it mean?

I’ve been meaning to write an update on moving and actually, maybe I already did? I can’t remember but anyway, in case I didn’t, we’re not moving. We found out that we wouldn’t be allowed out of our apartment (unless we continued to give up our BAH) until April so Josh and I sat down and had a good long talk about what we want, where we’re going (in life) and our near and not so near future and decided to stay put. The boys are really enjoying school this year and while there are still some major things we don’t love about city living, it’s a pretty cool experience to have for a couple years.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 9.08.49 PM

So where are we going in life? We are absolutely, definitely ending our run as a Coast Guard family come 2015.  Josh has already started researching IT and recruiting positions within certain companies and he’ll start applying for jobs in about a year and a half. He’s going to stay in the Reserves but as a family, we just can’t handle this nomadic lifestyle anymore. It has never been Josh’s plan to retire so settling down just as our kids begin middle school is ideal. We’re looking at opportunities in our hometown area as well as Pittsburgh, Central Virginia, parts of North Carolina, the Atlanta area, and who knows. It’s exciting to think about actually choosing where we want to live and not being contractually obligated to stay there.

I’m so excited that I get to watch Idol again this year. Three words. Harry. Connick. Jr.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 9.10.43 PM

Has anyone else seen the new findings on organic milk? I have to say, I don’t understand why it takes a research group to figure out that healthier cows who are fed better, produce healthier milk.

Lastly, I need some good book recommendations. Embarrassingly enough, I can’t remember the last book I read. I mean besides the books I read everyday with the kids. I don’t think I’ve read anything for my own personal enjoyment since before Ruby was born. My brain is turning into rhyming, kitty mush. Actually, I’ve been talking to Josh about writing a kids’ book called, “Shoes On.” I got the idea from Miss Ruby who has a favorite hobby of pointing out when people have their shoes on. Every single person who has their shoes on. Every one. Anytime we leave the house, “Shoes on! Shoes on! Shoes on! Boots on!” so I told Josh we should write a book about all of the different types of shoes since apparently it’s really interesting to toddlers. My rhyming, kitty, mush brain may just be on to something.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Randoms

  1. Books! Since moving to Key West where I have a very reduced social life + lots more air travel I’ve been reading more than ever. Recently I’ve been on a celebrity memoir kick. Carole Radziwill’s “What Remains” is excellent. Caroline Manzo’s (Real Housewives of NJ) book “Let Me Tell You Something” is awesome – if I didn’t already have a fabulous mother I would ask to be adopted by her. And lastly, Mindy Kaling (of The Office and The Mindy Project) has a book called “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?” that had my hysterically laughing on a plane last week. It’s a super light and fun read.
    One more – “Gone Girl” was good. It’s in the crime/drama/mystery category but definitely geared to a female reader. Definitely suspenseful! Happy Reading!

    • These are great suggestions and sound right up my alley! I’m a huge housewives fan 🙂 And I’ve heard that Gone Girl is a good one too! I’m definitely going to check all of these out. Thank you!!

  2. So glad to read that you guys are happier in the city! I know the school has to make a huge difference but I swear there is something about getting over the first year hump that makes everything seem a little more manageable. I think you’ll be happy you stuck it out. And now you can go to Levain Bakery and eat a cookie (or 5) for me. I miss Christmas in the city!

    You guys should look at Charleston, SC. It’s the best mix of city and suburb, not too far from country, and you still have beaches. If the navy let us go tomorrow, we would go back there in a heartbeat. But if you want any tips on Atlanta, let me know. That is home base for us.

    • I agree Lindsay. I think it just takes a good 9 months to feel settled somewhere. Charleston is actually another place we’d like to look at. We’ve never been there but have heard nothing but fantastic things about it. My aunt actually lives about 2 hours away, outside of Columbia, so we’re considering spending Spring break down there and would love to check it out.

      How about you? Have you made it to Hawaii yet?

Leave a Reply

