Randoms.

 photo IMG_7768_zpsabe029e6.jpg

This toy. Possibly the best toy ever made. It has effectively taught all three of my children how to say their ABC’s (with our reinforcement). It’s 6 and a half years old and still working on it’s first set of batteries. Every child who sets foot in our house becomes obsessed with it and it’s a set of magnets to boot! I actually tried to buy one for a friend’s daughter who loved it but they don’t make the same thing anymore. There is this one, which is selling for $180 at Sears – It’s that good. Okay, not really worth $180 but Amazon has a version that is more reasonably priced 😉

Ruby wants her ears pierced. Well, she wants “pretty ears” which is what she calls earrings. She loves them, and it melts my heart because I happen to be a lover of earrings too. They’re actually the only jewelry I wear besides my wedding ring. I had my ears pierced when I was like, 4 or 5 months old but I’m not a fan of baby piercing. Plus I think it would be a fun mother/daughter event once Rubes is old enough. I don’t know what my “old enough” is just yet but it’s definitely not 2.

 photo photo-125_zps4a154f3a.jpg

As for my post yesterday – I hit my wits end this morning and randomly came up with a pretty radical punishment. From now on, if both boys are present and one gets in trouble, so does the other one. It sounds crazy, I know, but my point is to show Parker that if he constantly thinks Theo’s business is his business (bossing him around, yelling at him, trying to enforce rules, tattling when Theo’s behavior has nothing to do with him, making snide remarks when Theo gets punished), then we’ll just make all of Theo’s business his business. My hope is that he realizes that Theo’s behavior is not something he needs to worry about. As for Theo, I’m hoping that this stops his tattling and blame placing. I thought of this because we always point out what complete angels they are when they’re not together. Essentially, I’m hoping that punishing both of them (with an equal punishment – so if one loses media they both lose media, etc.) will take away the constant competition between the two of them and their desire to throw the other one under the bus. We’ll see. It may just backfire and makes things worse but at this point we’ll try anything.

Facebook. I deleted my personal account. My friend texted me within two minutes of when I quietly deactivated and said, “You delete your Facebook more than I change my underwear.” Ha! It’s true. I’ve left FB three times within the past 5 months. Truthfully, Facebook is just a bad habit for me. 90% of the time I don’t enjoy what I read/see when I log on, yet it’s the first thing I look at when I wake up and the last thing I look at when I go to bed. Josh deleted his account too (about two weeks before I did) so zero access makes not having an account much easier. It has only been two days (11 hours, 4 minutes and 36 seconds. Just kidding.) but so far it’s not an issue. Of course, I still go to check my newsfeed every once in a while but that’s just out of habit. And last night, during the time Josh and I would usually be  sitting on separate sides of the couch engulfed in our own devices, we were snuggled up together watching House Hunters, talking about the future and researching different potential “settling down” locations. I also accidentally fell asleep while he was tucking the boys in and got a nice 20 minute nap. It was glorious. So many better things to be doing than creeping Facebook.

 photo ScreenShot2014-01-29at122608PM_zps9850fa35.png

This cute little thing from Target. I don’t even know what to call it. It’s accent furniture. I have the perfect spot for it but since we’re on our crazy budget I literally have to save up for it. The bottom line is that it’s not a necessity so I have no “fund” to take from and justify the expense. Josh and I did delegate $25 a week for each of us so as long as I can go without any iced coffee or ordered in sushi I should be able to purchase this beauty within the month since I already have some saved up 😉

The name Magnolia. Is it weird/terrible that I wish we would have named Ruby this? I mean, I still love the name Ruby and I think it fits her perfectly but ever since Josh and I started talking about our future children he has always said that he wanted a daughter named Maggie. We decided not to consider the name Maggie for Ruby because we have a friend with a daughter named Maggie and we just thought it would be weird. After Rubes was born, and named, we heard the name Magnolia and thought that it’s such a sweet, old fashioned (which we like), unique but not weird name that could be shortened to Maggie. To top it off, the real Maggie and her family got a new dog and named her…RUBY! Our next dog is absolutely going to be named Magnolia and called Maggie.

 photo IMG_7303_zpsdd8cd47d.jpg

My baby sister is having a little boy in the middle of May and his name will be Remington Morgan. I am already obsessed and in love with my first nephew, little Remy.

Anyone with knowledge of the Atlanta or Athens suburbs? I’ve had a few readers tell me that they could give information for a couple of different places throughout the US and I believe Atlanta was one of them. I want to know all about the cute towns, good schools, reasonably priced neighborhoods within a decent commute to the city. We’d prefer to be east of Atlanta and have looked into Suwanee, Newnan, Monroe, and Lawrenceville, if anyone has personal experience I’d love to hear anything! Atlanta is one of the places we’re highly considering for Josh’s job search. It has a great economy with a reasonable cost of living, awesome artsy suburbs with a southern feel and tons to do. It’s within proximity to the beach, Charleston, Hilton Head, Savannah, as well as some great cities to the north. We also have friends and family that live in the Atlanta area. We’re heading down in October so we plan to do lots of driving and scoping then.

Well I think that’s enough randomness for now. Hope everyone is having a great week!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Randoms.

  1. Me! I grew up in Newnan and have family/friends all over the state. I’d be happy to answer any questions! I had a love/hate relationship with GA growing up, and I’d still pick Charleston over Atlanta any day, but it’s changed so much over the last 10 years and is a great place to raise a family.

  2. I was searching for my GF’s blog and came across your interesting one. Loved how your daughter was wanting to have “pretty ears” like her mommy! Ours loved to watch me put on my earrings. Your story reminded of a funny experience when we 2.5 yr old daughter’s ears pierced.

    One day, she almost put one in her ear canal! Dh called out from the family room as she was asking daddy how to put one of my earrings in her ears like mommy. My husband laughed and told me, I should her ears pierced before we had to take her to the ER or to remove an earring!

    I called our ped and she encouraged me to do it when mommy could care for them and sent me some ideas she’d put together for moms having their daughters ears pierced. Feeling relieved, I had her ears pierced where our ped recommended.

    Told my daughter we were going to get her pretty ears and it might hurt a little as I pinched her ear lobes. She said, “…are we there yet?” She barely shed a tear and was so excited to have earrings.

    If you have been thinking about that mother/daughter day, it may be closer than you thought. Promise your daughter both look adorable and she would get her “pretty ears.”
    Angie
    angietune@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

